Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: The Mark of the Midnight Manzanilla

Amanda

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Image

Ok I have to start by saying I think this is a horrid title.  I love Lauren Willig and her Pink Carnation Series, and while I think all the flower titles have been fun, however, this is just way too much in one name.  I’m all for alliteration, but in my mind this just gets silly! I enjoy historical fiction and these have just enough modern chick lit to be different from the average historical romance.  I was very disappointed when I looked this book up today because I was thinking it would be out in January-August seems ridiculously far away! I feel like her publication schedule changed without my approval -boo! The Pink Carnation is a spy in her twenties helping the British Crown mostly in the war against Napolean, but her influence extends as far as India as well.  Through the series her friends and acquaintances get caught up in her schemes and ultimately end up in love. They’re not overly complicated, but they are entertaining and feel good books.  The series also features a modern graduate student who is researching the Pink Carnation and enjoying her own romance in London.   I enjoyed Sally Fitzhugh in her brother’s book, The Mischief of the Mistletoe and I look forward to seeing what she gets up to with a “vampire” in her own story.  If you’re like me and enjoy getting drawn into long series of books I recommend checking out The Secret History of the Pink Carnation.  Or if you want one book, the above mentioned Mischief of the Mistletoe is a good Christmas read.  The first is not the strongest of the series, but they get much better from there.  I definitely don’t want the series to end, but I really do want to see some romance in Jane’s life! Also, Lauren Willig’s website is a good source for finding more suggestions of historical fiction, historical romance, and sometimes a few other random reads.  I should stay away as my to read list grows daily-but I think you should check it out!

Leave a Reply

