Review: Attachments

Attachments, Rainbow Rowell

Reviewed by Amanda

Published April 14th 2011 by Penguin.

336 pages

From Goodreads…

Image

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . “

 

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

 

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

 

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . .

 I admit I was hesitant to read another Rainbow Rowell book after Eleanor and Park.  Not because I didn’t enjoy it because I really did; but because I was afraid I wouldn’t love her books after the hype I’ve been hearing.  I should have listened to the hype because I loved Attachments.  I stayed up WAY too late to finish this and my first thought sitting down at my computer was to email my best friend (the Beth to my Jennifer if you will) and tell her to read this too.

 

We meet Lincoln when he’s standing still in life.  He did not expect his job as an Internet Security Officer for a newspaper to consist of reading flagged emails, and he hates it.  He becomes so drawn into the emails that Jennifer and Beth send during the day that he knows he’s in the wrong, yet he can’t bring himself to stop reading.  I just liked Lincoln.  I liked that he seemed to be just an average Midwestern guy in his 20’s, trying to decide what he wanted with his life. He wasn’t a genius and he didn’t have model good looks–he’s just a guy trying to be happy.  

 

Jennifer and Beth cracked me up.  They were sarcastic and witty, yet honest and felt real to me.  I could understand why Lincoln couldn’t give them up.  I would have liked more of them in the story aside from the emails, but I understand why this book was basically from Lincoln’s head.  Just through emails I felt enough of Jennifer and Beth’s emotions and the details of the stories they shared. There there were some sad moments too and I liked how Rowell handled those, they felt just as real to me as the jokes.  This was basically a happy book to me about good friends and a sweet love story.

 

I found the timing of this book really funny with the Y2K crisis and the television and music references.  Thanks for the flashback to the ‘90s Rainbow!  It might be a bit of a stretch to call this a 5 star book because it was a light read, but when I find myself smiling while reading on the el before I’ve had all my coffee, I’ll call it worth 5 stars.

Thank you Netgalley and Penguin for this copy to review!

5 Comments

  1. I was doubtful when I picked up Eleanor & Park last year but ended up loving it. After I adored Fangirl, I’m on the Rainbow Rowell train and never hopping off. I’ve seen such good reviews for this one and I’m excited to see you loved it! 🙂 Great review!

Leave a Reply

