Review: Turned


Turned (The Belladonna Agency #1), Virna DePaul

Reviewed by Amanda

Published April 1st 2014 by Bantam

384 pages

Source: NetGalley

From Goodreads…

Image

Welcome to a mesmerizing world where vampires hide among humans. This centuries-old species has its own rules, code of conduct, and taboos. Only the FBI knows that vampires exist—and although the Bureau agrees to keep their secret, it also plots to give humans the upper hand.

Turning mortals into vampires is forbidden.

But there are creatures who refuse to play by the rules.

Ever since he was turned, FBI special agent Ty Duncan has had one mission: bring rogue vampires to justice. As a recruiter for Belladonna, a shadow agency formed to keep vampires in check, Ty must tap Ana Martin, a troubled ex–gang member and one of the few mortals who can infiltrate places that his kind and the law cannot. From their first encounter, Ty fights a hunger to make Ana his own.

When Ty claims to have information about Ana’s missing sister, Ana has no choice but to trust this captivating stranger who awakens her deepest desires. But as she and Ty climb the heights of pleasure and passion, an enemy is conspiring to destroy them both.

Can Ana help Ty find his humanity in a love that could heal them both, or will their passion lead them into a darkness impossible to escape?

I admit, I read some less than brilliant books from time to time.  I admit I read my fair share of vampire books.  I’m ashamed, but I admit it.  But I prefer for them to be well plotted and to not throw every idea an author can think of into a story-gangs, Latino vs. white tensions, child abuse, spies, vampires, human trafficking and sex.

In Turned Ty and his secret FBI linked vampire group bring in their very own Charlies Angels to help them against a group of bad vampires!  I liked the idea of vampires hidden among humans and the idea of vampires working together with the FBI-but the Charlie’s Angels plot style was just too silly for me.

I lost interest in Ty at the beginning — I can’t repeat the phrase he used for fear that my mother will read this-but I will say it ended with juice and ICK.  I liked Ana a bit better, but there was just way too much going on in this book and I couldn’t build up much real interest in her either.

I understand the need to dump some information on the reader at the beginning of a book and especially in the beginning of a series, but DePaul dumped her background information every time a new character came into play basically.  I did not need to read the story of the bad vampires turning humans over and over again through the book.

1 star

I received this advance copy from NetGalley and Bantam in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

