Review: Children Are Naughty

Children are Naughty, Vincent Cuvellier and Aurelie Guillerey

Amanda and Babycakes   

Published: May 13th 2014 by Flying Eye Books

Hardcover, 28 pages

Source: Edelweiss

From Goodreads…

Image

Children are naughty and parents are nice.

Some children bite and don’t share their toys and there are some who fight and make lots of noise. Let’s remember that parents were young once too! But were they as nice back then?

A tongue-in-cheek story about right and wrong, giving kids the opportunity to learn through laughter.

For something different, my three year-old and I decided to review a book together.  I’m doing my best to make sure she’s a book addict as well.

Image

(reading with Auntie Holly!)

I loved the idea of this book because yes, children are naughty! And aren’t parents always nice?  No? Just me?

The description says this book is for 3-7 year-olds and I think trying it older on the spectrum is a better idea.  My 3 year-old loves to read and looks at her books daily and unfortunately she could not keep her interest in this one.  It was meant to be funny, but maybe it was just a bit over her head at 3.5.  I see the authors are in France so I wonder if there is also something lost in translation?

I did like the drawings-particularly of the little boy who threw his spinach on the floor after it had been lovingly prepared by his father. The horror!

For us this was a 2 star read.  Just didn’t work, but I’ll try again when she’s a bit older!

Thank you Edelweiss and Flying Eye Books for this advanced copy to read.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

