Review: Not What They Were Expecting

Not What They Were Expecting, Neal Doran

Amanda

Published April 23rd 2014 by Carina

304 pages

Source: NetGalley

From Goodreads…

Image

Life can be complicated. And complications are the last thing you need when a baby’s on the way. But when Rebecca and James announce their joyful news, little do they know the road to baby bliss is far from smooth. Not only has James lost his job, but he can’t find another and can’t tell his wife why. Meanwhile Rebecca’s own family has picked the worst possible time to start to fall apart, and are relying on her to try and fix it. As secrets begin to permeate their lives Rebecca and James end up wondering are they really ready to be parents after all… But it’s too late now – and the expectant couple are about to learn that life doesn’t always turn out quite as you expect it.

I am always impressed by male authors who write women really well, but then to find a male author who wrote a pregnant woman so well was a surprise!  We meet Rebecca and James just as they find out she’s pregnant and they are expecting to be in a blissful balloon for 9 months while waiting for their baby “Bomp” to arrive.   I was expecting this to be a silly, chick lit kind of book and I found it to be more serious than I anticipated.  This was still a funny book for sure, but it made me think more than I was expecting to –which was good!

Rebecca and James come to realize the world does not stop when you’re expecting, much as you’d like for it to.  They deal with job loss, family drama and grief all while trying to prepare for parenthood.  Having a young child myself I enjoyed the excitement that Doran brought to life for me with Rebecca and James going through midwife visits, ultrasounds and nesting.  I enjoyed this book because as ridiculous as Rebecca’s family problems were, they addressed real questions about families and about marriage.  I was not sure how I wanted this book to end once all the secrets had come out, but I liked the resolution among all of the family members.  This was an entertaining read that made me feel really involved and eager for baby Bomp to arrive.   

It seems as though maybe at one point Rebecca was supposed to be having twins because the baby is referred to as “they” several times.  That was kind of annoying because I was both expecting a big reveal of two babies and then confused that I had missed something.  Just something that threw me off while reading.

3 Stars

This ebook is only 99 cents on amazon right now! Worth a dollar to read for sure!

Thank you NetGalley and Carina for this advance copy in exchange for an honest review.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

