Finally Finished Game of Thrones

Title:A Game of Thrones

Amanda

Series:A Song of Ice and Fire #1

Author:George R.R. Martin

First published August 6th 1996 by Bantam

835 pages

Source: Chicago Public Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our final messages on the topic:

A: Fin

H: Oh dear, and full of hate?

A: Slightly intrigued at the end of course due to the damn dragons.  And slightly full of hate.

H: Keep your hate for George not me!!

I finally finished this monstrosity this weekend.  I am underwhelmed.  I was hoping for a huge payoff in the end that would make me want to keep reading or to understand why everyone goes on with love for this book.  I didn’t find it.

If you have read the back and forth between my sister and me (here and here) then you probably won’t be surprised that I agree largely with her review.

In the end of Book #1 I found myself mildly curious about what the future holds for the dragons and for the remaining Starks. I kind of want to want to keep reading just to see if Jamie Lannister gets what he deserves.  I really hope he does.

But it is disappointing to me that we can’t have Arya without Sansa or Catelyn without Lysa.  And I won’t even get into the rape again, but seriously George, enough already.

2 stars from me!

I trust my sister and seeing her give her last Game Thrones read 5 stars (#3 A Storm of Swords) makes me curious, but at this moment I just don’t care. There are way too many books I am excited to read, and way too many books with kick ass female protagonists for me to be rushing onto Book 2.

For example:

The Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta.  You knew I had to push them right?

Graceling trilogy by Kristin Cashore

Fire & Thornes trilogy by Rae Carson

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

And based on reviews Holly and I are about to start His Fair Assassin, which I am really excited about.  These have been on great sale on amazon so pick it up and read along with us!  Have other and better fantasy suggestions for me?  Please share!

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

