Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On Our Fall To-Be-Read list

Today we’re hooking up with the Broke and the Bookish for their Top Ten Tuesday and here are our Top Ten books to read this fall:

cafc6-toptentuesday

Holly – I honestly have a lot of non-fiction books that I have my eye on, but none of them made it onto this list – probably because they take me longer to read, while I know I can realistically get through most of these while it’s still Fall.

The Silkworm – I know, I know, Amanda and I need to read this book. After all, we LOVED the first Comoran Strike book!

Feed – Amanda told me that I must read THIS Feed, by Mira Grant (currently reading it, sister!), and then I learned there is ANOTHER popular YA book, also called Feed, by M.T. Anderson. I decided I must read both.

Dark Triumph – Not gonna lie, I did not love the first book about teenage nun assassins. But, Amanda has talked me into reading the second, so we should get on that soon. Maybe this one will make more sense?

Silvern – I have some thoughts on Gilded, the first book in this series (trilogy?) – some good, some bad, some undecided, but I am intrigued enough to be ready for Silvern. I shall report back.

Little, Big – Remember when I wrote about the David Foster Wallace article that took me 3 years to read? Well, that ain’t got nothing on Little, Big. I received this book from a co-worker of my dad’s who I adore, for a graduation present. From 8th grade. In 1996. I think I tried to read it then, and I didn’t get very far, but this book has moved all over the place with me, and has a spot on my limited bookshelf. It’s time.

Amanda– I’m doing a happy dance that Holly is reading Feed! Everyone should read it! Seriously!

Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke & Bone #3) – I’m ashamed of how long I’ve had this out from the library.  The end of the second book just about killed me so I really need to start this.  Its huge though and its been intimidating me because of that.  Seriously, the hardcover is 613 pages.

Bitter Greens – Historical fiction and retelling of Rapunzel set in Venice?  Yes please.

The Cure for Dreaming – This sounds delightfully creepy.  Shamefully I have Cat Winters’ first book In the Shadow of Blackbirds on my shelf to read still too.

The Birth of the Pill – This seems timely with the news regarding reproductive freedom.  My next nonfiction to start-I am really excited!

Dark Triumph – As Holly said above, I wasn’t as enamored with the first book as others, but I’m intrigued by Sybella and I think I’m going to have to talk to my sister into reading this along with me very soon.

What are you looking forward to reading this Fall?

10 Comments

  1. I have read none of these, but what caught my eye was Bitter Greens – the fact that it is set in Venice.
    I visited Venice briefly last June and fell utterly in love with it. I am continually on the search for books that have to do with Venice, so I’m definitely going to be adding Bitter Greens to my TBR, and will be interested to read your review!

Leave a Reply

