Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books That Were Hard To Read

Today we’re hooking up with the Broke and the Bookish for their Top Ten Tuesday and here are our Top Ten books that were hard to read.

cafc6-toptentuesday

Amanda:

Room, Emma Donahue.  This book was so well written, but it was really hard to read. The subject matter is definitely not something I’d seek out.

We Are the Goldens, Dana Reinhardt.  I really enjoyed this one, but as a parent this one intimidated me because I want to keep my baby in a bubble.

The Hour I First Believed, Wally Lamb.  Columbine.  I don’t know if I’ll ever be ready to comfortably read anything about Columbine.

The Round House, Louise Erdrich.  This was my second Erdrich book, and while I knew the writing would be excellent I also knew it would be depressing as hell.  And it was. So sad and maddening because of how realistic the story was. Definitely worth reading though!

1Q84, Haruki Murakami.  I couldn’t have gotten through this if not for reading along with my friend Kara.  Wow this book was intense.  And odd. And intense.

Honorable Mention I’m still afraid to read The Truth About Alice.  Same as the Goldens-this TERRIFIES me as a mother of a little girl.  I really want to read it, but I don’t want to build up nightmares!

Holly

Love in the Time of Cholera, Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez. Sometimes I can look past creepy shit in a good book. Here, I could not. My hypocrisy knows no bounds. #sorrynotsorry

The Hour I First Believed – Ditto my sister. Wally Lamb sure knows how to make a person feel depressed, eh?

The First Thing and the Last, Allan G. Johnson. This is the story of a woman who suffers unspeakably terrible abuse.Tread lightly.

The Secret History, Donna Tartt – And this is why I’m not so sure I’m jumping on The Goldfinch bandwagon

Good thing Amanda posted 6 because I’m only listing 4. #math

What’s on your list?

4 Comments

  1. I really enjoyed We Are The Goldens, but I didn’t even think of it as a parent. I totally get what you mean though, about keeping your child in a bubble. I want my daughter to be able to stay a kid as long as possible.

  2. I have a hard time with books involving children as well. I got through We Are the Goldens but I wanted to shake several of the characters. I’m with you on not being able to attempt The Truth About Alice and I’m not brave enough to read Room. I haven’t attempted Love in the Time of Cholera though I feel like I should. If I can’t get past the creepy stuff at least I’ll know I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

