Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Series We Want To Start Reading

Today we’re hooking up with the Broke and the Bookish for their Top Ten Tuesday.  Here are 10 book series that we want to start

cafc6-toptentuesday

Holly:

I know the prompt said NEW series, but I am a rule-breaker. Most of these series are more than two years old, but here’s what I want to start reading.

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1, 2012) – this is the newest on my list. And, I have the first book thanks to a Kindle Daily Deal.

October Daye (Rosemary and Rue #1, 2009) – Amanda has demanded I read these books – but man, there’s a LOT of books…7? 8? That’s commitment. [Hello! You just read FEED, you should trust me by now.  Also finish FEED before you read more series. Also more, I am still emotionally preparing myself for #8]

The Looking Glass Wars (The Looking Glass Wars #1, 2006) – I think I heard about these on a History Chicks’ podcast. I love Alice retellings!

Abhorsen (Sabriel #1, 1996) – Apparently people love these books. I think they have zombies?

The Giver (Giver #1, 1993) – okay, I have actually read the first of these books, eons ago. But, who knew there were 3 more?!

Amanda:

The Giver- Unlike my sister I haven’t even read the first one.  I feel really behind the times here.

The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter #1, 2013).  I’ve been really into the Gothic reads lately. Maybe its Halloween coming?

Finishing School (Etiquette and Espionage #1, 2013).  Combining tea parties with spy technique? Yes please.

Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series (The Beekeeper’s Apprentice #1, 1994).  Ok, so this has been around a long time-but there are still new books coming out!  Retired Sherlock Holmes plus a teenage detective sounds so fun to me. Maybe this will keep the wait for the next BBC Sherlock season from being too painful?

Tawny Man/The Fitz and the Fool Trilogy Robin Hobb.  I have an ARC of the Fool’s Assassin, #1 of the Fitz and Fool Trilogy that was just released this fall.  However, I don’t think I’m going to appreciate it until I read the back stories-so to the library I go!

Any opinions on what should be read first? Besides Holly reading Newsflesh clearly.  Speaking of October Daye, I’m nearly emotionally ready to try to read the Winter Long-anyone want to hold my hand virtually through this book? I know she’s going to break my heart again.

12 Comments

  1. I had no idea that The Giver was the first book in a series so…you’re ahead of me there. I want to finish reading the Outlander series but so many pages! I’m always a little wary of series because of the commitment they require. I like to book whore around a little more.

  2. Read the Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes books! They can be a little dry but they’re so good! I want to read Finishing School and The Madman’s Daughter as well. I didn’t realize The Giver was a series until recently either. I’ve actually always thought I had read it but it turned out that was a book about the Holocaust and was in no way related to The Giver. Not sure why I got the titles confused. Great list!

  3. Bahaha… did it really say new series? I’m a rule breaker too because I just thought it meant new series to ME haha.

    OMG! Throne of Glass.. I am currently reading that right now and it’s SOOO good. I would recommend starting with the novella book though (The Assassin’s Blade) it really set the tone for ToG and I think I love it more now 🙂

    I really want to read the Finishing School series also! It sounds amazing and the covers are fabulous 🙂

  4. I’ve just started reading The Giver – too early on to have much to say but I think it’s going to be good.
    If Abhorsen has zombies then I’ll probably check those out too – I just read and loved The Girl With All The Gifts and fancy reading something else with that theme 🙂
    Great list!

  5. The Giver is awesome and really tiny…it’s like a 1 day read, honest. XD I recommend it! OH. And I love Throne of Glass! And Crown of Midnight is even better…seriously that book just so blew me away I lost the ability to EVEN. *flails forever*
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

Leave a Reply

