Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books We’d Like To Reread

Today we’re hooking up with the Broke and the Bookish for their Top Ten Tuesday.

cafc6-toptentuesday

Amanda-I call this I have an addiction to reading series.  I need help.

  1. Anne of Green Gables. I loved this series so much.  I just unpacked all my teenage copies, but this cover by Puffin has made me realize I should upgrade my bookshelf.download
  2. Harry Potter.  I haven’t done this reread in a while.  Is 4 too young to introduce Babycakes to the Boy Who Lived?  This is a serious question.  I collected them all in hardcover while I was pregnant to be ready.
  3. The Magicians and The Magician King.  I need to prepare myself for The Magician’s Land.  I’m just not sure I’m ready for this series to end.
  4. The Dark is Rising.  I remember loving these when I was younger.  Maybe another set I need to collect for Babycakes?  What am I going to do if she doesn’t like to read the same things as me?!
  5. Catch-22.  Thankfully my one standalone.  This made me laugh out loud and sob-sometimes at the same time.  My next dog is going to be named Major Major thanks to this book.

Holly

  1. I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb. Reason: I have a hardcover copy of this book I got at a library book sale because I had loved it so much the first time – but I really better reread it soon to justify moving this book a few times.
  2. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. Reason: I thought this book was the bees knees when I was 16. I’m both interested and terrified to reread and find out why.
  3. American Gods by Neil Gaiman. Reason: My sister LOVES this book so that’s reason enough for me for a reread. I did like it – I just can’t remember it that well.
  4. Middlesex by Jeffery Eugenides. Reason: I thought this book was great years ago, and then I read The Virgin Suicides more recently. I did not like that one, so I need to go back to remember why I loved this one (besides the fact in contains one of my most favorite paragraphs).
  5. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Reason: Do I need one for this? Well, it’s because I read it so long ago I feel like I need to revisit it just to be a culturally literate human being.

What’s on your reread list?

12 Comments

  1. Amanda: I am with you on the Anne of Green Gables. But I actually don’t know what happened to my copies. I obviously need the Rifle Paper version. I never finished Catch 22. I hated it. I got through like 50 pages and it was one of the first books I abandoned. It’s totally not too early to introduce Harry Potter to your little one. Especially not the early ones.

    Holly: I suspect you will like The Catcher in the Rye less as an adult. He’s such an entitled little shit and when you’re young you’re like YES! Exactly! Parents suck! And now you’re probably more like Dude. Shut up. I liked Middlesex but I think The Marriage Plot was my favourite.And I also need to re-read To Kill a Mockingbird.

  2. I really want to reread HP too – have only read the series once so far, even though I’ve watched the films many many times 🙂

    The Magicians is on my TBR list, and so is American Gods, so I’m glad you enjoyed these enough to possibly reread them one day.

  3. Funny you should ask this – I have been re-reading “The Bastard”, it is a historical series- The Kent Family Chronicles that begins right at the start of the American Revolution. I love this book and I am sure I will be reading the series. I told my son about it and had to read it!
    My son recently read “To Kill A Mockingbird” and loved it and it made me realize how much I have forgotten so it is on my list.
    The World According to Garp. Love this book , the most odd yet real characters I have ever fallen in love with.

Leave a Reply

