Nonfiction November Week Two – Reading List

We’re back for more Nonfiction November – a series of posts celebrating nonfiction and why you should read it. You can find our Week One post here – along with a bunch of comments on books we had to immediately add to our to-be-read lists.

cork-w-books-300x300

For Week Two, we were (okay, I, Holly was) struggling to put together a list of books on a particular topic. I looked at the nonfiction books that I want to read and suggested my topics to my sister. Weather? Books about reading? Or Weird Books about Data?

Amanda was unimpressed with my random categories. She posted last week that she wants to read some modern American History, so we came up with a list of books we’d both like to read on that subject. (Maybe we need a nonfiction sister read-along soon!)

20th Century American History Gun In Act One Reading List

b39f50b7e6634657933d7c05100109db

Issac’s Storm: A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History by Erik Larson – Erik Larson is the man

Empty Mansions: The Mysterious Life of Hugette Clark and the Spending of a Great American Fortune by Bill Dedman – This has gotten rave reviews from other NFNers!

The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl by Timothy Egan – Quite the contrast to one directly above

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown – Another one that we’ve seen a lot of praise for

The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration by Isabel Wilkerson – Thanks to a comment last week from Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II by Denise Kiernan – I have been waiting for this to be available at the library!

Any recommendations to add to this list? Or, any weird books about data to add to Holly’s list?

16 Comments

  1. Ooh great list! (Although I would have been equally excited about a list of weird books about data!) A lot of these books have made it on a lot of Nonfiction November posts and they’re definitely on my TBR. Especially Empty Mansions, The Boys in the Boat and The Worst Hard Time.

  2. Holly, have you read Dataclysm by Christian Rudder? If not, do it!
    There are some great books on the history list! I did modern American history for this topic last year, so I have a bunch of recommendations, but one of my favorites is The Unwinding by George Packer.

  3. Yes to books about weird data, or weird books about data. 🙂 Do you know the book What If:? Serious Scientific Answers to Hypothetical Questions? It sounds quite fascinating. I know I have a copy of Isaac’s Storm somewhere; I need to find it…

  4. I love your list of books and I’m especially intrigued by The Girls of the Atomic City. Everyone seems to be reading Empty Mansions, but I’m not sure if I want to yet. I did download In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson because his books seem to be so popular.

  5. Came across your blog on the Nonfiction November link-up.
    I absolutely loved The Boys in the Boat! And – I see an Erik Larson on here that I’ve never read – that’s for sure going on my TBR list! I love him! He also has a new one coming out this spring…Dead Wake.
    This week, I posted books about the Kennedys and my all-time favorite nonfiction books.

Leave a Reply

