Our Top Ten Resolutions for 2015

Today we’re hooking up with the Broke and the Bookish for their Top Ten Tuesday, Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 — bookish, blogging or otherwise!

cafc6-toptentuesday

Holly

  1. Read these 12 books or bust.
  2. Tweet…sporadically. I know Twitter is like the place to be for bloggers and readers and writers and pretty much anyone, but I just haven’t gotten too emotionally invested over there. And I’m okay with that. But I’ll try to throw out a tweet every now and again. (Yes, I know that goal-setting-for-dummies says goals should be specific and measurable. So basically, I take back everything I have said in goal #2 because I don’t really mean it. But, you can follow me @ampersandpaper for a whole lot of nothing!)
  3. Here’s a real one! In 2014, I got to hear a few author talks, including  Helene Wecker and Karen Abbott. I would be up for more author events in 2015.
  4. Roll out a new look for Gun In Act One, maybe? I know there are things we could do to improve the look of our blog. Maybe we’ll do them in 2015. Maybe we’ll sit on the couch and eat bon-bons instead. It could really go either way, people.
  5. Write for fun and sometimes profundity. Is that a goal if that’s basically what I already do? Maybe that’s my mission statement. I like to review books, but I also like to write posts that are book/reading/life related. December has been kind of a hectic month for reading and writing both, but I plan to continue writing some non-review posts throughout the year. That is, if there is time to post them between all of Amanda’s review posts.

Amanda

  1. I’m planning to go to ALA MW in January.  Tell me if you’re going! I’m really excited about this and I hope Holly can come too!
  2. I really need to clean out my GR to read shelf which currently has 1506 books on it.  I’m guessing there are a few I can take off.
  3. Finish the 12 books for our 2015 TBR challenge (see Holly’s #1).  I picked up 5 Days at Memorial at the bookstore today and I’m afraid.
  4. Try to start reading chapter books with Babycakes! I am counting down until we can start The Secret Garden or Harry Potter!
  5. This is not a blogging goal or reading, but I really want to learn to make my own pie crust.  I’m afraid but its time to try!
11 Comments

  1. I have the opposite issue with my GR To Read shelf – there’s only like 93 books on there. It seems to be the last place I log my TBR List. I’m excited for you that you’re about to introduce ‘Babycakes’ to some fabulous worlds via The Secret Garden and HP. A Little Princess is a good one too!

    Holly – your goals sound way more like mine. Maybe I will, maybe I won’t. But I will read those 12 books. Other than that…2014 was so much planning, maybe 2015 can be more relaxed?

    Either way, happy new year you guys!

  2. I don’t even want to think about my GoodReads shelves! That sounds like a project for 2016. For the read aloud books have you looked at Elizabeth Enright? She’s old fashioned but her books kind of span the age gap between little kid books and Harry Potter/Secret Garden. I need to start a chapter book or 2 with the Tornado as well. I’m not a Twitter fan either. Bloglovin’ automatically sends out a tweet and I generally do tweet the link for a post but other than that I can’t keep up. Good luck you two!

  3. Thank you for posting your Twitter handle! I’d tried to find you on there awhile ago with no luck. I’ve followed you now 🙂 And I’m horrible with Twitter…I tend to only Tweet my new posts and retweet others. I need to get better about tweeting my actual thoughts occasionally…but I always wonder who really cares!
    PS – I see you’re reading Dirty Chick…I have that for review this month also. Looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

