Top Ten 2014 Books We Haven’t Read Yet-But We Will!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday Today from the Broke and the Bookish is really “Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant to Read But Didn’t Get To,” but we thought it would be more optimistic to say “Top Ten 2014 Releases We Haven’t Read Yet But By God We Will.”

cafc6-toptentuesdayHolly

Holly disclaimer: sometimes it takes me a REALLY long time to get to books I mean to read, but I really am quite excited to read all of these!

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – because this looks awesome and was on everyone’s list of 2014 faves.

Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers – because Amanda and I love teenage assassin nuns.

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay – because, obviously.

An Untamed State also by Roxane Gay – seriously 2014 was the-year-of-Roxane-Gay.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler – because I need to read and discuss with my two best girls!

Amanda

Amanda rhetorical question: Why are these 4/5 series I can’t complete?!

Mortal Heart  by Robin LaFevers – Duh see above.

Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi (Under the Never Sky #3) – I even pre-ordered this! Who am I?  I think I’m not ready for it to be over.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor (Daughter of Smoke & Bone #3) – I’m afraid of having my heart broken.

The Winter Long by Seanan McGuire (October Daye #8) – Combine the above problems.  I’m not ready to wait for the next book and I know McGuire ’s going to kill me and break my heart in a million pieces.  I just know it.

Without You There is No Us: My Time with The Sons of North Korea’s Elite  by Suki Kim – This sounds so fascinating! I have 2 copies on hold at the library so my husband and I can both read. #booknerds

13 Comments

  1. Holly: I really want to read Bad Feminist too! I can’t believe that I didn’t get to it last year considering all my feminist re-education last year. Yes Please is a joy to read. And I’m not sure that anyone is allowed not to like teenage assassin nuns!

    Amanda: Would you believe that a friend leant me the first of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone books and I returned it unread??? That book about North Korea sounds really interesting – North Korea is a terrifying place. A look inside would be really eye opening. I like your book nerd plan.

  2. Mortal Heart also made my list. I am really looking forward to reading it soon! Dreams of Gods & Monsters is also on my list…I too don’t want to get my heart broken, I kept putting it off because I wasn’t ready for the series to end. I really liked Into The Still Blue, though that was definitely a series that I didn’t want to end. (And I still wish it didn’t end. Love that series!) So basically I just don’t want book series to end. 😀
    Great list!
    Stephanie href=”//http://mybookishitinerary.blogspot.com/2015/01/top-ten-tuesday-41-ten-2014-releases-i.html”>My TTT

Leave a Reply

