Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Can’t Wait to Share with My 4 Year-Old

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday Today from the Broke and the Bookish was a freebie.  So I’m sharing 10 books I can’t wait to share with Babycakes when she’s bigger. This may be an ode to Roald Dahl.  Auntie Holly threw in an honorable mention as well!

cafc6-toptentuesday

  1. Harry Potter. I started collecting these in hardcover when I was pregnant so I can start as soon as she’s ready!
  2. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle.  I still have my beat up paperbacks to pass down.
  3. Anne of Green Gables.  I hope she finds a bosom friend!.
  4. A Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.
  5. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
  6. The B.F.G. (the Big Friendly Giant) by Roald Dahl
  7. Matilda by Roald Dahl.  Basically all the Roald Dahl ok?
  8. Linena in Monet’s Garden
  9. The Phantom Tollbooth
  10. Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH

God help us if this kid doesn’t like to read.  This doesn’t include at all the books my husband has waiting for her.

# 11 from Auntie Holly: Paddington Bear, yo. I was into Paddington before he was a movie star! I totally had a Paddington Bear party in grade school, complete with a red hat. It’s on.

20 Comments

  1. I’m lucky in that all my kids seem to turn into readers. They all like different kind of books, so it’s been fun finding books for them that encourages their love for reading. I’ve read several Dahl books with them, and all were a hit. We just read Pippi Longstocking, which was not a hit and broke my heart a little bit. Now I’m setting my sight on The Little House series and then Anne of Green Gables. They better like that one, or else! 🙂

  2. Love this idea! I’m not even pregnant and I’ve already collected Dr. Suess and children’s adventure books for my future kids 🙂 But Anne of Green Gables is the book I’m dying to share with my daughter, if I have one one day. I think I would be devastated if I had a daughter and she didn’t love to read (that wouldn’t keep me from trying to encourage her, though!).

  3. My kids are 18 and 14, but I had so much fun reading aloud to them! I highly recommend The Hobbit as a read aloud once they get old enough to enjoy it – I read it to both my kids (at different times). Also, not to brag or anything, but I read the entire Harry Potter series out loud to my son, all one billion words of it. It took us close to a year of reading every night, and it was just an amazing experience.

  4. Awesome post! I think every kid needs Harry Potter in their lives 🙂 If you’ve never read the Pippi Longstocking books by Astrid Lundgren, read these too! She may love them. I know I certainly did!

  5. I read aloud to my kids (and listen to audiobooks with them) ALL the time – it’s so fun! My 9 year old son and 6 year old daughter both adored Anne of Green Gables. They laughed uproariously at Anne’s antics, and we cuddled and cried during the sad parts. Some of our recent favorites are Mary Poppins, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, The Chronicles of Narnia, and A Series of Unfortunate Events. 🙂

Leave a Reply

