Top Ten Tuesday: 10 YA Series We Need to Read

We are not strictly dedicated to any one genre here at Gun In Act One, but for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday at the Broke and Bookish, we’re looking at ten Young Adult series that we can’t believe we haven’t read yet.

cafc6-toptentuesday

Holly

Now, I just told you guys that I don’t keep up with New Releases very well (of anything), so this isn’t a list of books that came out 5 minutes ago that I can’t believe I haven’t read yet. These are more like, books that I’ve heard or read great things about (from either one person or a hundred people) that I keep meaning to get to. And I will…eventually.

  1. Mara Dyer – I have no idea what these are even about but I remember someone raving about them so I’ve been intrigued ever since. Maybe I will see if these are at the library soon.
  2. Noughts & Crosses – I put #1 of this series on my 2015 TBR Challenge list, so this is obviously happening.
  3. Throne of Glass – I even have the first book on my Kindle already, thanks to an Amazon deal of the day!
  4. Flavia de Luce – My sister loves these books so obviously it’s only a matter of time before she uh, lovingly convinces me to read them. [Not YA but I’m leaving these on Holly’s list because they’re AWESOME and everyone should read them.  Flavia is a young adult after all]

Amanda

  1. The Cahill Witch Chronicles by Jessica Spotswood.  Witchy sisters? Yes please.
  2. The Madmans’ Daughter by Megan Shepherd.  Creepy Gothic!
  3. Kiss of Deception – The Remnant Chronicles by Mary Pearson. A hidden princess and assassins!
  4. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman.  Dragons! I need more dragons in my reading life.
  5. Every Breath by Ellie Marney.  Contemporary Holmes/Watson set in Australia-how fun does that sound?
  6. Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal.  Based on Persuasion with a magical twist?  Perfection.  Now to get Holly to read this with me.

What’s on your list that you can’t believe you haven’t read?  Which series should we start with?

12 Comments

  1. I really liked the Cahill Witch Chronicles, and thought that the premise was interesting and well-executed.

    And Seraphina was terrific! I was so excited when the sequel was made a Read Now on netgalley for a few hours!

  2. I’ve read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Kiss of Deception and loved them both! They were soooo good! I’ve had yet to continue reading the rest of The Mara Dyer trilogy, but since I have the books I’ll definitely be doing so soon. Throne of Glass was good as well, but everyone kind of hyped it up for me saying, ” You’re going to love it! ” or ” This will be your favorite book this year! ” Well it wasn’t, but it was still an enjoyable read. I also have to finish the rest of this series before the next book comes out! Hope you guys get to these books soon!

  3. Mara Dyer was on my list too — I have heard such awesome things about it and people were dying for the third books release!

    Throne of Glass is SOOOO good. I started it at the end of 2014 and I am in love. it really is worth all that hype 😛

    The Cahill Witch Chronicles is also on my list, and Kiss of Deception is definitely one I need to read soon!

    I hope you ladies get to these series soon ❤ Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

