Our Top Ten (or Twelve ) Favorite Books of the Last 3 Years

The Broke & The Bookish chose a cruel theme for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday your favorite favorites of the last 3 years.  I considered knocking Holly off this list entirely so I could pick all my best reads, but decided to be sisterly and share.

cafc6-toptentuesday

Holly:

  1. Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta
  2. The Poisonwood Bible (re-read) by Barbara Kingsolver
  3. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker
  4. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  5. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

Dude, I cannot remember any books I liked before we started blogging.

Amanda

  1. Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta.  We’re clearly kind of Lumatere obsessed.
  2. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.  Does Gaiman write anything that is not perfection?
  3. The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.  I clearly have a thing for books about curmudgeons and about books about books.
  4. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen.  Loved this fantasy  I am dying for my sister to catch up and read the sequel with me!! Long live the Queen!
  5. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.  I loved this book while it broke my heart! Official Moyes fangirl here.
  6. Chimes at Midnight (October Daye #7).  I loved this one so much I haven’t been able to read the next book in the series yet.
  7. InCryptid Books 1-3 by Seanan McGuire.  These are just really fun books with kick ass women.  Totally therapeutic reading for me. And shut up yes, I’m counting 3 books as one.
20 Comments

  1. Know what I love about this post? Many of these books I’ve never heard of, and the ones I have read wouldn’t make any top 10 list of my own (I did love Me Before You, however). The fact that there are so many diverse works out there to keep so many different readers intrigued and excited and simply READING floats my boat high in the water. How boring this world would be, how stifled writers would feel, if we all loved the same things? Seeing a list that’s entirely different from mine warms my heart way more than any twin of my list would. Thank you for sharing this!

  2. I had your TTT open awhile ago and then I saw you commented on mine! LOL. Great minds think alike! I have The Golem and the Djinni to read!! Of course, I’m excited to see Code Name Verity on your list. And I LOVED The Storied Life–such a wonderful book. Me Before You was sooo good but I was upset for many days afterwards. Great list, ladies!!

  3. So you couldn’t get it down to 5, huh? LOL! And all I could think about were books I read BEFORE blogging–8 years ago!

    Poisonwood Bible and Me Before You are two greats. I really need to read The Golem and Jinni.

Leave a Reply

