Top Ten Books On Our Spring TBR Lists

cafc6-toptentuesday

Today’s Broke & Bookish list is Top Ten Books on your Spring To Read Lists.  I decided that we had to check our Winter TBR lists to see how we did this time- amazingly I read 4/5 books! Shamefully this means that I’ve had my copy of the Miniaturist from the library since January-I had better get on that soon.

Amanda

  1. Re Jane: A Novel by Patricia Park.  A retelling of Jane Eyre with a Korean American orphan?  Might be just the thing when I finish our #PersuasionReadalong!
  2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Cannot wait for this new series!
  3. A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson.  If you haven’t read Life After Life yet go do so now! I cannot wait for this companion book about Ursala’s brother.
  4. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab.  Alternate Londons?  Sounds amazing.
  5. Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran.  An Indian queen standing up to the Brits? Sounds fascinating!

Holly

I am 3 for 5 from my Winter list, but, I am happy to report that I am finally at 5 for 5 from my Fall TBR list! This Spring I plan on knocking out: (And by plan, I mean, we’ll see)

  1. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling – even though my mother did not recommend it
  2. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – so Amanda doesn’t disown me. (YES!!)
  3. The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig – Amanda and I are hosting Pink #9 of Pink for All Seasons (Readalong of the Pink Carnation series)
  4. Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein – because Code Name Verity
  5. The Promise by Ann Weisgarber – just looks lovely

What books are you excited about?

8 Comments

  1. You’ve got several that I’m planning to read soon! I didn’t include Black Dove, White Raven or A Darker Shade of Magic but those are two I’m planning to read in the immediate future! LOL. A God in Ruins sounds good–I have Life after Life but I haven’t read it yet so I need to get to it….Great list, ladies!!

  2. There are just so many good books releasing this spring. You are going to love The Queen of the Tearling. It is amazing! And you can never go wrong with Michelle Moran. She picks the best subjects for her historical novels!

  3. I didn’t know Michelle Moran had another book coming out! I loved her books about France. She’s a wonderful historical fiction writer – I’m going to have to keep an eye out for that one. And I’m with you on A God in Ruins – I can’t wait.

    I loved A Casual Vacancy! People are so hard on it but it’s an incredible story of class structure, something we all like to pretend doesn’t exist anymore. It’s a miniseries too – maybe that will get you reading it soon?

  4. I recently added A Darker Shade of Magic to my TBR… I’ve been wanting to read more fantasy. And I loved A Casual Vacancy… I don’t know if that’s because I agree so strongly with its politics, but in any case, it was a great portrayal of a small town and its people. I watched the mini-series of it this past weekend and was totally into it all over again. Hope you enjoy it, too!

Leave a Reply

