Top Ten Books We’d Like to Reread from Childhood

Today we’re hooking up with the Broke and the Bookish for the Top 10 books from our teen years that we would love to revisit

puffin-in-bloom-anne-of-green-gables

Amanda:

  1. Anne of Green Gables. All the Anne books really. I need to break down and buy the gorgeous new Puffin edition. But I need more bookshelves first.
  2. Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of N.I.M.H.  I only remember that I loved this, can’t remember why. #old
  3. Matilda- when can I read this to Babycakes I wonder?  This first or the B.F.G…
  4. Over Sea and Under Stone, (The Dark is Rising Series)Susan Cooper. I am waiting for this to come from the library. My copies of this series disintegrated from being read so often.
  5. A Wrinkle in Time- I have reread this kind of recently. Still an amazing series. Meg is a character I cannot wait to introduce my daughter to!

31646

Holly

  1. James and the Giant Peach – books this awesome do not require an explanation.
  2. The Phantom Tollbooth – I have re-read this one in recent years. It holds up.
  3. The Giver – I have been meaning to revisit this one and also finish the rest of the series.
  4. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe – notwithstanding the fact that Turkish delight is not actually delightful
  5. From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler – I don’t remember too much about this book other than learning how to hide in a museum bathroom after hours. Perhaps someday that knowledge will come in handy.

What’s on your list?

8 Comments

  1. I’m in the middle of re-reading the whole Anne series and it’s really holding up for me as an adult. I really want to read the whole Chronicles of Narnia. A colleague recently told me how the whole thing ends and I’m pretty sure my head exploded so now I need to read it to see if that’s really the case.

    Amanda, you definitely need to get the whole Puffin in Bloom series. They are spectacular and all the books are perfect to share with your daughter some day.

  2. I should definitely take another look at Anne of Green Gables. For some reason, I remember that, more than liking her, I was really into the books about her kids for some reason.

    I definitely used to make elaborate plans about living in museums a la Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. That’s another one I should check out again.

  3. I haven’t read so many of these!

    Mixed-Up Files is one of my fondest third grade memories, since most other things about third grade sucked (worst teacher ever).

    Also, too true about Turkish delight. I saw someone say that it just sheds even more light on Edmund’s (crummy) character that he sold out his family for nasty jello treats.

  4. So many of these books are books from my childhood also! I read Matilda to pieces. I read almost every Dahl book but that was definitely a favorite one. I also was a huge fan of Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. I remember for my child self it was rather a haunting book. I even read the sequels that were written by a relative of the author. I’m not sure they would hold up as well, but I liked them well enough at the time.

    I too thought Turkish delight was awful until I bought some freshly made in the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul and they were heavenly.

Leave a Reply

