Review: Never Be Younger: A YA Anthology

Never Be Younger: A YA Anthology

Amanda

Published June 9th 2015 by Metamorphosis Books

25539776

From Goodreads…

Classic story meets the modern world…and out of this world.

From the halls of a high school to hip night clubs to the depths of space, Never Be Younger gives Shakespeare’s classic plays and sonnets a fresh spin for a new audience. Nine authors pay tribute to the Bard by taking his timeless tales to new heights, entrancing readers all over again. A Shakespeare story by any other name still reads as sweet.

I checked one of my 6 books off my currently reading list!  It’s been a long time since I have picked up one of Shakespeare’s plays to read and the Never Be Younger anthology made me think I should remedy that asap.  Some stories, such as Othello, never leave you but others I definitely would have gotten more out of the retelling if I’d had more familiarity with the original.

The highlights for me were:

  • To Undreamed Shores by Cortney Pearson (The Winter’s Tale).  I would have enjoyed more of this story for sure.  The Winter’s Tale is one I’m not too familiar with but this was a sweet romance, if a bit rushed in the end.
  • Mark the Music by Olivia Hinebaugh (The Merchant of Venice).  Loved this!  What a way to lose a pound of flesh.  Hinebaugh set the original on its head with this musical story.  Even more than moving Romeo & Juliet to outer space (yes it’s true) I thought this was the boldest retelling.
  • The Scarf by Christina June (Othello).  Othello is absolutely my favorite Shakespeare (Thank you and RIP Brother Ruhl) so I was very curious to see how this was retold.  Loved this one too!  June stayed true to the spirit of Iago and his malevolence with a setting that was purely modern high school.  I was very nervous for June’s Darcy and her scarf throughout, but this was a creative and excellent retelling.

These three were my favorites, but the anthology also includes stories based on Romeo & Juliet, The Comedy of Errors, Macbeth, Twelfth Night, and A Midsummer Night’s Dream- so perhaps your favorite is included too?

All proceeds from the sales of Never Be Younger go to United Through Reading, a charity dedicated to uniting military families through reading. Check out the bottom of the post for how you can win great prizes to celebrate the release!

To celebrate they are hosting a fantastic giveaway as well.  Check it out HERE!

7 Comments

  1. This sounds really cool. I was just telling my son the other day that he would really enjoy the Leo DiCaprio version of Romeo and Juliet. The modern retellings are a great way to introduce the Bard to younger generations without boring them to death or having them struggle through archaic language.

Leave a Reply

