Top Ten Fairy Tale Retellings

Today we’re linking with the Broke and the Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday and this list is my heaven:  Fairy Tale Retellings

cafc6-toptentuesday

I have to break this list into two sections: 1) Fairy tale retelling’s that I’ve loved and 2) Those that I still need to read!

I’ve had a really good year for reading fairy tale retellings 4 of my top 5 are from 2015!

Uprooted by Naomi Novik.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

The Wrath and the Dawn– I can’t believe I haven’t reviewed this but let me just say this is the first book I received an ARC of and bought.  So I loved it that much.

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge(review to come)

Indexing by Seanan McGuire.  All the fairy tales in one and of course kind of bizarre as only McGuire would do.  The second installment of this bi-weekly series cannot come to me soon enough.

To read:

Basically everything by Robin McKinley is on my TBR.  I think I’ll start with the Hero and the Crown so I can get to the sequel which my friend Chrissy highly recommended!

Cinder by Marissa Meyer.  I’m waiting to binge on this whole series once it’s done.

After Alice by Gregory Maguire.  I know everyone has read Wicked by now basically, but I liked some of Maguire’s other retellings much more.  I am excited to see where he goes with Alice.

Never Never by Brianna Shrum, Peter Pan from Hook’s perspective sounds super cool.  Maybe I should read the original Peter Pan first though.

Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier.  Curses and swans and fair folk- I need to get to the library.

Give me more fairy tales I need to read!  Link me up to your list!

12 Comments

  1. Amazing list! I have been seeing a lot of Robin McKinely on these lists, so I will definitely check those books out. Also, I don’t know if you’ve read it already, but if you liked Crimson Bound, you should read Cruel Beauty, because it is such an amazing book. I have wanted to read a lot of these books for a while, so I hope you enjoy!

  2. I had to quickly google After Alice because I thought maybe it was one that I had missed! Now I’m excited! Maguire’s fairy tale retellings are amazing – I went through quite a Maguire phase probably about 8 years ago. Wicked obviously blew my mind, but was also a fan of Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister and Mirror, Mirror. I think his books were the first I read that twisted a familiar tale and I was thrilled that someone could do that. It seemed like breaking all the rules to this nerd.

Leave a Reply

