Review: Lair of Dreams

Lair of Dreams, Libba Bray (The Diviners #2)

Publication: August 25th 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hardcover, 624 pages

Source: e-ARC from NetGalley

16060716

From Goodreads

After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O’Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to “read” objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title, “America’s Sweetheart Seer.” But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners’ abilities…

Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer?

As I said in my recent review, I was pos-i-tute-ly entranced by my first Libba Bray book, The Diviners, and I was eager to dive into Lair of Dreams to find out where the story continued.  Consider yourself warned, spoilers ahead for The Diviners!

Again Bray made me feel like I was really in New York City in the 1920’s.  In this case bouncing between Chinatown, Broadway and into the subways themselves.  Bray also totally caught me up emotionally – forbidden love affairs, mysterious government agencies, an unexplainable sickness, children led astray and the all over ick feeling that comes from reading about the eugenics movement and the Klan.  The sense of magic woven in with the setting was just so well done again. 

At the end of Book #1 Evie went public with her ability to read a person’s past with a personal object.  The city is mad for Diviners now and Evie is eating up the attention.  She is living large – and alone.  She doesn’t see her Uncle WIll or Jericho really and she’s so busy being famous she doesn’t see a lot of Theta or Mabel – though there is plenty of time with Sam which I did like!  I did miss that sense of camaraderie that I felt with the characters in the Diviners.  Yes, we had new groups forming to work together, but they seemed to have more of their own agendas going in this book.  I hope the next book brings Evie back into the fold though I am nervous about love triangles for her!  Evie has such potential to grow up and be amazing – I hope she snaps out of the speakeasy scene so we can see her do that.

As much as I like Evie, what I also enjoyed about this book was getting into the other diviners and what they can do.  The diversity of the characters is fantastic!  The dream walking was crazy cool- and nerve wracking. I was basically nervous the whole book every time someone went to sleep about whether they’d wake up.  I was nearly afraid to go to bed in the beginning.  I love Memphis and I am very curious to see where he goes with his decisions to use his skills to heal or not.  I love him with Theta and I’m also anxious over that relationship!    

In all honesty, I didn’t like this all over as much as The Diviners – I felt I could predict a bit more what was going to happen and the mystery was creepy but just not my favorite.  However Lair of Dreams was still a great follow-up that leaves me eager to read still more of Bray’s world.  I can’t wait to learn more about the government involvement and about the divining talents that are still being kept secret.  What is this all building up to?!

3.5 stars

Thank you Little Brown Books for Young Readers and NetGalley for this advance copy in exchange for an honest review!

3 Comments

  1. I’m sorry this one didn’t live up to The Diviners for you. I actually really enjoyed it (maybe even more) except for the decided lack of solid page time for Jericho. I totally agree with you about the diversity and amping up the tension for the next two books!

Leave a Reply

