Library Checkout: October

I love this idea of Shannon’s so much!  I’ll take any excuse to spread the library love!  My daughter read her first chapter book with me this month thanks to the library! Please pardon me for crying over this milestone.

LibraryCheckoutBig

Library Books Read (and rereading and rereading with Babycakes)

  • The Sandman Volume I by Neil Gaiman – (My review)
  • The Day the Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt
  • Nancy Clancy: Soccer Mania by Jane O’Connor
  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan
  • I am a Witch’s Cat by Harriet Muncaster
  • I am Malala
  • China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan

Checked Out to Read

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  • Nil by Lynne Matson
  • Sekret (still renewing this one sigh) by Lindsay Smith
  • Dinosaurs Before Dark (Magic Treehouse #1)  by Mary Pope Osborne

Returned Read

  • Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews

On Hold

  • Breaking Bad Season 1 (so excited)
  • Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich
  • The Beekeepers Apprentice by Laurie R. King
  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  • Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff (119# on 39 copies bah)
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Illustrated Edition
  • Laurie Berkner Band Favorite Kids Classic Songs
  • Soundless by Richelle Mead
  • The Veil by Chloe Neill
  • The Witches by Stacy Schiff
  • Tricky Twenty-Two by Janet Evanovich

Returned unread:

  • Cinderella Ate My Daughter
  • Interstella Cinderella by Deborah Underwood (Babycakes)
  • Slaughterhouse 90210: Where Great Books Meet Pop Culture  by Maris Kreizman – didn’t even make it to the checkout – but this looks awesome! I had too many books at that trip if there is such a thing.

Museums!  Because the Chicago Public Library is the coolest I lucked out this month and checked out

  • Shedd Aquarium Pass
  • Adler Planetarium Pass – sadly returned unused.  Stupid weekend cold.

How did you do at the library this month?  Any recommendations of what to read first?

19 Comments

  1. Congrats on your daughter reading her first chapter book – that’s so exciting! I’m already thinking about what chapter books I want to read with my kids when they get old enough (they’re 2 and 4).
    And – We’re 6 episodes into season 1 of Breaking Bad…it’s awesome! And – you’ve got some great stuff on hold (Bull Mountain…cough cough).

  2. Ah – the Magic Treehouse books. I managed to read up to #39 with my first 2 kids, but they started losing interest as they got older and child #3 was never interested in them. Although they can get very repetitive, I was sad when we stopped reading them because I was learning so much!
    I can’t even imagine being #119 on a book! The highest I’ve been is 6. 🙂 I hope it goes quickly for you.
    Station Eleven is good! And, you’ve reminded me that I want to read Bull Mountain.

  3. Yay, libraries! I love this idea for a blog post. I’ve been trying to get through my ebook backlog, so my library books are sitting patiently in my desk drawer at work. But I did recently check out and watch Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell.

    • Oh China Rich Girlfriend. I have no words. There has to be a 3rd book right? And how do you think we can get it before anyone else? I am going to end up buying both of these I know it to reread and to force on other people. I’m so thankful you recommended them!

      Malala was very good. She’s amazing. It was a lot more history of Pakistan than I needed – but really probably important info.

      I am excited about Carry On – but also hesitant because I didn’t read Fangirl and it didn’t appeal to me. I love her other books so we’ll see. I started Six of Crows this morning and am hooked for sure.

  4. That museum pass thing is amazing. I’d be using those ALL THE TIME.

    I’m kind of torn on the Harry Potter illustrated edition. If I can contain my curiosity (or distract myself), I’d love to read it for the first time with my son… but he’s several years away from HP, so probably not.

Leave a Reply

