Our Best Reads of 2015

Amanda

I fell 10 books behind on my Goodreads challenge of 155 books – I think if I had finagled the Goodreads system for rereads better I would have made it though! Oh well – on to 2016!  I read some books I really loved this year so I’d say this Top Ten order is pretty random.  Its also missing books that I also thought were amazing – like Mortal Heart, Invasion of the Tearling, Crimson Bound, Euphoria and Made You Up.  Sigh.  Maybe I should have done a top twenty list…  These were my happiest or most thought provoking and just best reads of 2015.

  1. A  Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman  
  2. Crazy Rich Asians and China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan
  3. Romantic Outlaws by Charlotte Gordon (also the longest book I read!)
  4. Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum
  5. All the Rage by Courtney Summers
  6. The Unquiet Dead by Ausuma Zehanat Khan
  7. The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
  8. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  9. Uprooted by Naomi Novik  
  10. Dietland by Sarai Walker

 

Holly

I read about half as many books as I meant to in 2015, including 8 from Lauren Willig’s Pink Carnation series, 7/12 books from my TBR Challenge list, and 4 read-alongs with my sister (Persuasion, Invasion of the Tearling, Mortal Heart, & Romantic Outlaws). Here, in no particular order, are my favorite books that I read this year:

The Casual Vacancy by J.K. RowlingHurts soooooo good.

The Martian by Andy Weir – On audiobook, but I’m counting it because I loved it so much.

The Lords of Discipline by Pat ConroyNot exactly light honeymoon reading, but definitely a gateway book into more Conroy.

MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel BertscheYoung professional in a new city looking for her bestie? HIts a bit – er – close to home.

Persuasion by Jane AustenThe read-along was at least half the fun of reading this one!

I love reading lists- tell me your best reads of 2015!  Happy New Year!

11 Comments

  1. A Man Called Ove is on so many lists – I gotta read it! Luckily, I own it, so hopefully I’ll get to it this year.
    I also want to read Romantic Outlaws (because of your review), Dietland, and The Casual Vacancy (which I also own).

  2. Amanda: I know you said the order is random but I’m choosing to believe that A Man Called Ove and Crazy Rich Asians are actually your #1 and #2! Because AWESOME. Hausfrau feels so long ago but I remember now how complex that reading experience was and how much dialogue that book created. Almost worth reading a second time.

    Holly! I’m with you on The Casual Vacancy. I cried SO HARD when I finished that book. Watched the mini-series this year and it was really missing something. I had virtually no feelings when it ended despite enjoying it? And I’m so glad you loved Persuasion! Northanger Abbey is your 2016 Jane Austen yes? That one is SO DIFFERENT from her other books. But in a good way.

    Happy new year to you both!

Leave a Reply

