Library Checkout: January 2016

Seriously, I have library issues.  Thanks Shannon for starting this check-in and making me face my addiction!

LibraryCheckoutBig

Two December books worth noting!

  • Manners & Mutiny by Gail Carriger  (great ending to this series! and I am totally going to miss the covers. Still not sure about steampunk)
  • Fates & Furies by Lauren Groff – WOW.  Definitely a book I’m still thinking about

January

Checked out and Read:

  • Blood Kiss by JR Ward
  • A Monstrous Regiment of Women (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes #2) by Laurie King
  • Lumberjanes Volume #1 Beware the Holy Kitten by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen
  • The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley
  • Hedgehugs by Steve Wilson (If you have kids get this for Valentine’s! Hedgehogs who hug – could it be cuter?!)
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  • Breaking Bad Season 3 (Holy S&%T.  We’re only halfway through. There’s a library fine in my future)
  • Concealed in Death JD Robb (I’m all out of order and its messing me up!)

Returned Unread

  • The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
  • Concussion by Jeanne Marie Laskas

Still on my Bookshelf

  • Ms. Marvel Volume 1 by  G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona
  • Nil by Lynne Matson
  • Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
  • Mr. Splitfoot by Samantha Hunt (Next up for sure!)
  • DVD of This Is Where I Leave You (I loved this book!)
  • Festive in Death by JD Robb
  • Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Sussan
  • Solve Your Child’s Sleep Problems by Richard Ferber, MD.  (Sigh.)
  • Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2 (any opinions on these books?  Babycakes loves the movies. Debating requesting a book)
  • Jurassic World DVD
  • The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
  • Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood (2016 TBR I will own you!)
  • Art Institute of Chicago pass – (my favorite museum in the world!)

On Hold

  • Lady French Toast and Sir Pancake by Josh Funk
  • Breaking Bad Season 4
  • The Radiant Road by Katherine Catmull
  • After the Crash by Michel Bussi
  • Obsession in Death JD Robb
  • Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed – I think Holly and Eva have convinced me to take this off the list and just buy the damn book already
  • My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman
  • My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem
  • The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo
  • Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith

What do you have from the library this month?  What should I put on hold when I break down and buy Tiny Beautiful Things?

18 Comments

  1. Good God woman, you were not kidding.
    Breaking Bad season 3 is when I was finally convinced that it was an incredible show. Good luck getting the rest of your life on track while you’re finishing the series.
    Definitely just buy Tiny Beautiful Things. And maybe get a second copy for Holly, she sounds serious about stealing.
    Valley of the Dolls is turning 50 this year so you should definitely read that soon! Turn it into a blog event!

    And YES to Fates and Furies. I want to re-read it already.

  2. Yup. That is quite a list.
    I thought I was done with these for a while, since, you know, I was going to read my own damn books this year. But I could still do one of these up pretty easily. (I have 8 library books stacked up right behind me, and 5 more on hold at the library. Oops.)
    Ferber, huh? Good luck with that! 🙂

    Right now I’m reading Birdie by Tracey Lindberg (from the library).

  3. I am so upset that my library doesn’t have Tiny Beautiful Things. It might have to be a birthday present this year. And someone keeps hogging My Grandmother, so I have yet to read that one, too. I had my eye on Hedgehugs, and now I can happily buy it for Valentine’s Day.

  4. January 2016 Library Ticker:
    Read – The Valley of the Dolls
    Have to read/finish – The Reluctant Fundamentalist and Let the Great World Spin (I’m way behind the rest of the world)

    I’m going to search your lists for what should be on my “hold” list!

Leave a Reply

