Library Checkout: April

Thanks Shannon for this check-in!

LibraryCheckoutBig

I have issues.  When walking past the library last Friday with my daughter I stopped to check the awesome Chicago Public Library app to see if I had anything in.  She asked me if she could get a book too -I started to say “You don’t need a library book, you have enough at home…”  Can you believe those words came out of my mouth?  Followed by: “Sweet! I have holds in, let’s go inside.”  And yes, she got 2 books too.

Read

  • The Radiant Road by Katherine Catmull
  • We are All Completely Beside Ourselves (Thanks Chrissy!) by Karen Joy Fowler
  • Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson
  • The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton (5 year-old found this hilarious! See Miss Print’s review )
  • Lady Pancake and Sir French Toast by Josh Funk – GET THIS IF YOU HAVE KIDS. We love it. I need to buy it.
  • Hedgehugs by Steve Wilson – also adorable!

Checked Out To Read

  • Breaking Bad Season Five  – OMG Walter White I hate you! Almost done with this
  • Solve Your Child’s Sleep Problems (HA HA HA HA) Never going to happen Dr. Ferber. She’s trying to torture me.
  • The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck by Sarah Knight.  (Soon I won’t give a f*ck about anything because I will be so tired)
  • The Expatriates by Janice Lee
  • The Beautiful Bureaucrat by Helen Phillips
  • Charlotte Bronte: A Fiery Heart by Claire Harman
  • Nil by Lynne Matson. I’ve renewed this 10 times – when do I admit I might never read it?
  • Samantha Learns a Lesson and Samantha’s Surprise – American Girl Doll books to read with Babycakes

On Hold

  • I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
  • Tuesday Nights in 1980 by Molly Prentiss
  • The Wife, The Maid and The Mistress by Ariel Lawhon
  • Breaking Bad: The Final Season
  • The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
  • The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins
  • The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee
  • A Gathering of Shadows by Victoria Schwab
  • You by Caroline Kepnes
  • The Swans of Fifth Avenue by Melanie Benjamin
  • Troublemaker by Leah Remini (I’m judging myself for this a bit)
  • The Beast by JR Ward (don’t judge me more)
  • Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

Returned Unread:

  • The Widow by Fiona Barton
  • After the Crash by Michael Bussi
  • My Name is  Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

How was your library reading this month?

19 Comments

  1. hahahahaha that story still makes me laugh. Did she give you a dirty look and call you “Pot”?
    You hate Walter White now? hahahahhahahahaha
    You have some excellent books coming your way – I want to read The Expatriates, so let me know what you think of that one.That Charlotte Bronte book! Obviously I haven’t read it but remembering how you felt about Romantic Outlaws, I suspect you will like this one.
    A library app. That is cool. I want that.
    And never any judgement on reading material! Reading is reading. Plus, Leah Remini is awesome and Scientology is terrifying.

  2. Ha – love it! And your list of books is pretty awesome! We’re in the middle of Breaking Bad too…but I think we’re just on season 2. I’m in the middle of The Expatriates and really loving it. Exactly what I need right now. And I have the audio of Life-Changing Magic..just need to clear some space on my phone so it will download. And Swans of 5th and Lucy Barton are great too!

  3. That is hilarious andI would have done the same thing! You have got some great reading ahead on that hold list! And no regrets on returning The Widow- I thought it was really weak. Too many other thrillers out there.

  4. Hahahaha wait wait wait, you can renew your library books 10 times? At the public library? That sounds — great for you, maddening for the other library patrons? I believe my library lets you renew a book three times and then they want it back no matter what. Which is fine. If I haven’t read it by nine weeks on, odds are this isn’t the time at which I’m going to be reading it anyway.

  5. AHhhh your library seems really awesome! I go every Thursday, which you can imagine is pretty much a guarantee I’ll bring home books. #noregrets
    OH oh I hope you like A Gathering of Shadows *SHRIEKS BECAUSE THAT BOOK IS SO GOOD* And I’ve heard good things about The Star Touched Queen, so eeeep!

Leave a Reply

