It’s Monday: What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday!  My daughter graduates from pre-Kindergarten tomorrow so I might be crying too much to read the rest of the week.  For today I’m hooking up with The Book Date for what I’m going to attempt to read at least.

I’m still pushing through Charlotte Bronte: A Fiery Heart – which is excellent but oh so long.  I am definitely excited to reread Jane Eyre, try Anne Bronte and maybe even reread Wuthering Heights after reading about the Bronte family.  I didn’t even know they had a brother – and what a poop he was!

I was really excited to start My Lady Jane – an alternate telling of the life of Lady Jane Grey by a trio of YA authors.  This book has been getting a ton of love from other bloggers but mostly I have been thinking it is pretty silly.  I was curious enough to keep reading, so maybe the pay off will be in the end.

I can’t wait to dive into Miranda Beverly-Whittemore’s new book June.  I loved Bittersweet a few years ago and I’m only wishing I was at a pool to do my reading.  After that I have to decide – library book, review books or when to start rereading A Court of Thorns and Roses.  Such decisions!  Maybe Roses  & Rot followed finally by Happy Family?

What are you reading this week?

14 Comments

  1. I was feeling super sick of my hyper scheduled reading so I made a friend pick from 4 books I’m really excited about but didn’t plan to read this month. Her winner based on title: The Gilded Cage by Lucinda Gray. And as is the way with this kind of serendipity, it turns out it might have been exactly what I needed. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Roses and Rot–I’m really excited to read it.

  2. Congrats to your little girl! I get teary every time I think about my 3 year old going to kindergarten.

    I tend to stagger my reading, so I read one library book, one book for review, and one from my own shelves. It works for me! 🙂

  3. Oh I do want to read Roses and Rot! I’ve read a few things the author has said about how she came up with the story that make it sound amazing. And good to know about My Lady Jane — you’re the first I’ve heard it mentioned, and I’m into the notion (sort of? I am not always such a fan of historical fiction), but may give it a pass for silliness reasons.

Leave a Reply

