June Library Loves

Seriously, the CPL is killing me with my holds coming in.  Thanks Shannon for this check-in! I hope your library mojo picks up soon.    I’m starting with two books that I just finished that you should get on your library list too!

Dear Fang, With Love by Rufi Thorpe – This book definitely got me over the minor slump I was in after reading Girls on Fire.  Vera was delightful even as she broke my heart.  I thought the look at a non-traditional family dealing with mental illness was so well done.  

Roses & Rot by Kat Howard – This was dark and delicious and I was done in a day. Two sisters with a dark past and bright futures. Fairy tales and broken hearts – I loved it. The kindle edition is only $2! I might have to buy it.

Also read:

  • The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
  • Breaking Bad – The Final Season – Holy Intense!  We’re still talking about it!
  • Troublemaker by Lea Remini
  • A Gathering of Shadows (OMG so good) by V.E. Schwab
  • Charlotte Bronte: A Fiery Heart by Claire Harman
  • Nil by Lynne Matson (It only took 13 renewals!  Really enjoyed it)

Currently reading:

  • Flappers: 6 Women of a Dangerous Generation by Judith Mackrell – so fascinating!

Checked Out:

  • The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker (read and reviewed but need a refresher so I can read…
  • The King Slayer by Virginia Boecker
  • The Lorax
  • Mary Poppins (requested by the kid!)
  • The Good Death: An Exploration of Dying in America by Ann Neumann
  • Samantha’s Surprise by Maxine Schur
  • Hedgehugs by Steve Wilson
  • I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
  • The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

Going back unread:

  • Samantha Learns a Lesson (I’m passing down the library hoarding to Babycakes)
  • Tuesday Nights in 1980 by Molly Prentiss.  Back on hold this goes.
  • Court of Fives by Kate Elliott – DNF

Holds:

  • Lumberjanes Volume 2
  • The Night Gardener
  • The Princess and The Pony (Again! Babycakes can’t wait!)
  • Grantchester Season One
  • Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley
  • Eligible
  • Tangled by Emma Chase
  • Rich and Pretty
  • Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
  • Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty
  • The Girls (woot! Down to 70 on 48 copies)
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (don’t tell my husband I’m getting the ebook rather than read my own 500 lb hardcover)
8 Comments

  1. You weren’t kidding about the CPL burying you in books! This list is enormous.

    I remember thinking about the end of Breaking Bad for so long, and I’m jealous that you just got to experience it for the first time! I wish I could go back and do it again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

