It’s Monday: What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday! If I think it’s a good day it can be one right?  I’m into too many books at once – shocking I’m sure!  Thanks to The Book Date for hosting!

265303512611446317910069

Flappers: 6 Women of a Dangerous Generation by Judith Mackrell – Fascinating!!  Thanks Eva for recommending it!

Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Dennis-Benn.  Shaina raved about this while reading – I think its going to break my heart.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff – Just waiting for the stab, stab, stabbing to start.

Lumberjanes Vol 2 – This is totally delightful!

Sex Object by Jessica Valenti – I want to love this nonfic so much! I stopped at about 20% and need to pick it back up.

I also finished the Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend which was full of cheese and adorable.  I decided to quit on And I Darken by Kiersten White – I feel terrible quitting but I just wasn’t feeling it.

What are you reading this week?

26 Comments

  1. OK – I’m wondering if I should pick up Here Comes the Sun again…I was kind of bored so put it down around 35%, but I was reading it while kids weren’t in school and I was packing to leave town for 10 days, so am wondering if I was just distracted. Everyone else seems to love it.

  2. You ARE reading so much this week! I need to decide what I’m going to read next – I finished Between the World and Me this morning. My soul is a little bruised but I’m glad I read it. I’ve foolishly signed up to read Cecilia online. And technically I’m (still) in the middle of the 4th Outlander. I can’t even remember what it’s called, that’s how invested I am.
    I’m so glad that you are enjoying Flapper! It is a massive tome to carry around though so I hope you’re able to knock it off your list soon!

  3. Maybe one day we will stop guilting ourselves about DNFing books. My philosophy is that there’s so many books out there I know I’ll enjoy, so why am I making myself miserable when I’m trying to engage in the one thing (reading) that I love the most?
    I also picked up Here Comes The Sun because of Shaina, and will pick it up as soon as my social justice-y non-fic phase comes to an end.
    I LOVE LUMBERJANES AAAAAAAHHHHHHH
    I did Sex Object on audio and listening to all of those experiences consolidated into one book and the author narrating them definitely made me queasy. I can appreciate having to take a break from it.

    • You’re totally right about DNF’ing. I have way too many books that I want to read to give my energy and limited time to something I don’t like. I need to just remember that sometimes. Here Comes the Sun + social justice would definitely put me over an edge. Sometimes you just need light pairings. Like with Sex Object – clearly I am going to need some fluff to go with!

  4. I have had very mixed results with Jessica Valenti’s nonfiction, to be honest! So I wouldn’t judge you if you didn’t end up finishing Sex Object. Meanwhile I am glad The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend was what I am expecting it to be — maybe I’ll bump it up on my reading list, I could use something cheerful and heartwarming.

  5. HERE COMES THE SUN HERE COMES THE SUN HERE COMES THE SUN.

    That is all. I’m so excited you’re reading it! I totally understand about it being too much right now, but I do hope you finish and enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

