Do you save books for rainy day reading?

Do you save books for a “rainy day”?  Trish at Love, Laughter and A Touch of Insanity did a post about delaying pleasure reading that left me thinking.  Some books I want to read because they’re just happy – so why do I wait to read them when I know they’re going to put me into my blissful reading state where nothing else matters?  

Right now the two books I’ve started and stalled on are Jessica Valenti’s Sex Object – a memoir about sexism and Nicole Dennis-Benn’s Here Comes the Sun – a highly recommended novel but it’s about women living in poverty in Jamaica – not fluff.  I NEED FLUFF.  The news is poop, my kid is a petri dish and got sick and passed on to me, and sometimes I just need fluff.  I want to finish both of these books but first I’m going to cleanse my mental palate with Nora Roberts.  I’ve admitted I love Nora and I’m not ashamed.  I’m still trying to figure out how I’ve let the start of her newest trilogy sit on my kindle for 7 months unread.  

My next library book is Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson and I’m excited to read it.  But I’m going to have to balance the justice system and the two books above with something like Sarong Party Girls – and maybe even more smutty romance.  Any suggestions?

Is it just me?  What do you read when the news is dark?  How do you balance light and heavy reading?  Do you save rainy day reading material?  

8 Comments

  1. Yeah I do this all the time! Sometimes, like the other day, I want to read something that matches my rage-y mood. But other times, I have to find the balance so that I don’t lose my mind! I have a Liane Moriarty sitting on the shelf right now (the only one I haven’t read, what will I do after?!) but I’m saving it for long weekend reading. Similarly the 2 Lars Keplers I have. There are more serious reads kicking around (Everyday Sexism, Half of a Yellow Sun, The War that Ended Peace) but I need to be in there right mental space. With the way the world is going (i.e. down the toilet) I want more fluff.
    Read the Nora Roberts! Pick up The Hopefuls! Reread Ove! Pick up something by Liane Moriarty! Beatriz Williams! Get your escape on!

  2. I have to balance light and fluffy with the heavier reading. Actually, in the summer I am mostly a light and fluffy reader! Although I just “The End of Everything” by Megan Abbott. Not light at all but – wow – it was beautifully written and seriously powerful so I have to mention it to someone! My most recent fun reading was “Queen of the Trailer Park” – seriously an awesome main character- loved her! and a fairly similiar likeable train wreck character in “The Day Baily Devlin’s Horoscope Came True” by Rebecca Forster. Romantic comedies if you will! Since i am on a roll, I have to suggest you read “Jenny Pox” by JL Bryan. It is a YA series- not light reading, but I think it is something you would really enjoy. As if you don’t have enough on your reading list.

  3. I always *intend* to save books for a rainy day, but two problems arise. One, it is sort of hard for me to admit to myself when a day is sufficiently rainy that I can give myself a break from depressing reads. And two, I don’t have like a dedicated tab on my TBR spreadsheet to accommodate only books that will cheer me up. I should add one! Like my TBR spreadsheet doesn’t have enough tabs already. :p

  4. I’ve gotta say…I gave up on Here Comes the Sun. It wasn’t b/c it was too dark for me, more because I just got kind of bored. BUT – I’ve been gravitating toward lighter fare this summer as well…and I don’t think it’s just b/c it’s summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

