It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

It’s still Monday right?  I’ve caught myself 3 times today thinking tomorrow is Friday which is both depressing and terrifying.  We’re getting ready for school to start and packing to move and basically my reading time has disappeared.  It’s tragic!  So I wanted to check in with The Book Date so I feel like I’ve done something productive reading wise.

After reading Catherine at the Gilmore Guide to Books review Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty I knew this would be the one library book I got to pre-move.  I mostly despise Fern and Edgar right now but this writing is gorgeous and I cannot wait to see how this book ends up.

For my  light reading I flew through Nora Roberts’ Bay of Sighs which was just what I needed for weekend distraction.  I’m also rereading A Court of Thorns and Roses which I loved at night so that I can get to A Court of Mist and Fury some day!

I swear some day soon I’m going to pick my kindle back up and finish Here Comes the Sun! Maybe at the end of the week when the kid is in school finally.  And then… too many books to count!  Maybe the Fate of the Tearling?  Fates & Traitors?  Lady Cop Makes Trouble?  Or The Underground Railroad?  I’m overwhelmed with options!

What are you reading this week?

 

11 Comments

  1. I agree about Sons & Daughters….fantastic writing, dislikable characters, but the second half fell off a bit for me. And I feel like I should maybe pick up Here Comes the Sun again…I DNF’d at 35% and have now been hearing so many amazing things that I wonder if I didn’t give it enough of a chance (and I was also reading it during a hectic time in my life, which always impacts my ability to focus).

  2. I’m making my way through The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson. It’s decent but it’s not like Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand which was so wonderful. And still working on Cecilia…
    I think I might be up for hating some characters – I have Sons and Daughters kicking around in a pile on the floor (that’s how bad the book hoarding has gotten)…

  3. I’m reading the sequel to The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf and dealing with the fact that I do not remember like 90% of what happened in the first one. Now that I’m most of the way through the book I have managed to remember most of the things that happened.

    The Underground Railroad and Here Comes the Sun are two that are very high up on the list for me, and I’m super looking forward to reading them soon!

  4. I must be the opposite! I tend to do so much more reading on my Kindle these days than actual paper books. Most of the paper books I’ve read this year were either for Comics February or book club.

    Hope that Kinder goes well!!

Leave a Reply

