Library Checkout September 2016

LibraryCheckoutBig

This move at least forced me to not hoard my library books because I was so afraid of losing them!  However, instead I’ve lost my kindle which is really a terrifying feeling.  I have such good ebooks checked out and I can’t get to them!  

Checked Out and Currently Lost Ebooks

  • Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (yes this is because I also can’t find the hardcover I preordered.  Shut up)

hillary-duff

Checked Out Currently Reading

  • The Traitor’s Wife: The Woman Behind Benedict Arnold and the Plan to Betray America by Alison Pataki (meh)
  • The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by CS Lewis. The kid is up and down on this so far. I will make her love it! 
  • The Cartel by Don Winslow – I’m not reading this but my husband is. He’s obsessed and in love. So if Mexican cartels are your thing this is apparently highly recommended!  I don’t think I can do the violence he’s describing personally though it sounds excellent.

Checked Out Read – These are August too

  • The Sight by Chloe Neill 
  • Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty by Ramona Ausubel – Check out this review at the Gilmore Guide to Books but I really enjoyed this! 
  • Apprentice in Death by JD Robb (perfect post move read)

Holds

  • Love Loss and What We Ate by Padma Lakshmi  (Thanks Sarah for the reminder!)
  • Overruled by Emma Chase
  • My Own Words by Ruth Bader Ginsburg
  • Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews
  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (I’m 17th in line and might not be able to handle this wait! But if I buy it will I just lose this too?)
  • The Hating Game by Sally Thorne
  • The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton – this has been in transit since May. I’m slightly worried that the kid will never get to read about the pony that toots too much again. 
  • Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

Returned Unread – Too many good things to list. It’s kind of sad. I’ll just put them back on my list and pretend August/September never happened! 

Thanks Shannon at River City Reading for this check-in! What’s on your library shelf this month?

6 Comments

  1. Oh no!!! Losing my Kindle would be like losing my right arm!!! Or maybe both arms.And you’re welcome for the Padma book 🙂

    I’ve also heard good things about The Cartel and Don Winslow in general…I should probably try it b/c I loved the doc Cocaine Cowboys and the book Killing Pablo.

  2. Oh Lord, my library situation is preposterous right now. I don’t want to talk about it. It’s too silly. For the past, like, numerous number of weekends, I’ve thought to myself “okay do not get any more books at the library, you have plenty” and then gone ahead and checked out more books. I have a problem. It is very real.

  3. You lost your kindle?! That’s terrible!!! I’m so sorry! I hope it turns up soon!

    Thanks for the tip about The Cartel – that’s got my husband and his dad written all over it. Sons and Daughters was just OK for me. Really want to read Shrill and RBG’s book. And I want to know what you think of Homegoing!

Leave a Reply

