It’s Monday: What Are You Reading?

So last week I decided to finally read A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.  Basically I’m not broken for fiction, especially fantasy.  If you didn’t listen to me when I loved A Court of Thorns and Roses then listen now!  I just don’t know where to turn so for this week I’m going to stick to nonfiction and go for a totally different genre when I’m ready for fiction.  

Last week was also my 10 year wedding anniversary and my husband and I went to The Girl and The Goat to celebrate.  I’m still in recovery from the meal.  My first reading inclination was to follow this meal with rereading Sweetbitter for the restaurant experience – but see the above ACOMAF issue; so I started Generation Chef: Risking it All for a New American Dream by Karen Stabiner.  I’m really enjoying how Stabiner is unfolding the opening of a new New York Spanish-style restaurant, even though I’m going into work hungry after reading.  I just checked The View from the Cheap Seats: Selected Nonfiction by Neil Gaiman out from the library again so hopefully I’ll finish this time before it has to go back to the library.  I also have Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West which I’ve seen nothing but raves about.  All good options for my broken book heart. 

When I’m ready for fiction I think I’m going to pick up A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles – reviews like The Gilmore Guide to Reading have me ready to love this.   I might also be ready for some fabulous Flavia de Luce in Thrice The Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d.  Eva at The Paperback Princess enjoyed this one and I can’t wait to see what else Flavia gets into. 

I really wanted to love The Devourers by Indra Das but something about the violence has just put me over the top.  I think I have to call it a DNF.  

What are you reading this week?  Thanks to The Book Date for hosting this check-in!

14 Comments

  1. Reading “I am drums” by local author Mike Grosso (ya). Listening to “A Man Named Ove” in the car and the reader sounds so much like Steve Martin (but it’s not) . Also reading “Replica” by Lauren Oliver (ya). By the way – have to brag, I got to eat breakfast with Jordan Sonnenblick author of ” Drums, girls, and dangerous pie” @ Anderson’s YA lit conference in Lisle Saturday.

  2. I’m planning to read Generation Chef soon! Glad you’re enjoying it. And I might be the only person who didn’t love A Gentleman in Moscow…just make sure you have chunks of quiet time available and that it’s not a super chaotic time in your life. That book begs for peaceful reading time to be appreciated and I read it in the middle of Sept back to school craziness and couldn’t concentrate.

  3. What a beautiful wedding photo!

    So excited you’re going to give Gentleman a try. Honestly, my new release reading since then has been so meh I almost want to read it again.

    I know the week is almost over, but I’ve been reading Wolf Hall and am now almost finished with Your Heart is a Muscle. Both older releases, but both really good.

Leave a Reply

