Library Checkout: October

Happy Halloween!  Thanks Shannon for letting me post about my ongoing library addiction with this check-in.  I officially am out of room for my library stack – I need an intervention. I’ve been on a light reading kick. I need to step up my serious books to go with my non-fiction for November.

Checked-Out Read:

  • Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews
  • Overruled by Emma Chase
  • Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West – EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS IMMEDIATELY!
  • The Princess & The Warrior: A Tale of Two Volcanoes by Duncan Tonatiuh – thanks to Emma at Miss Print for this review These pictures were gorgeous, the story was great and it sparked some fun conversation about myths and Mexico in my house
  • The Night Gardener by Terry Fan

Checked out To Be Read

  • The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe by CS Lewis – if I can pry the kid away from the damn Rainbow Fairy books we’ll keep going
  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – I’m afraid to start almost!
  • The Green Road by Anne Enright
  • My Own Words by Ruth Bader Ginsburg – YAY
  • The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan
  • Ghostland: An American History in Haunted Places by Colin Dickey
  • Love, Loss and What We Ate by Padma Lakshmi
  • Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

On-Hold – Clearly the kid needs a library card

  • The Bad Beginning: Book the First by Lemony Snicket
  • The Princess and The Pony by Kate Beaton (thanks again Emma).  There were tears at my house when the library lost our first hold
  • Hilary Rodham Clinton: Some Girls are Born to Lead by Michelle Markel
  • Princess in Black by Shannon Hale
  • Like a River Glorious by Rae Carson
  • The Hating Game by Sally Thorne
  • The Mothers by Brit Bennett – only #62 this could be worse

What’s on your library shelf this month?

 

10 Comments

  1. I FINALLY bought Shrill last weekend. Am about to start a new book…maybe Shrill is it?

    I’m excited to find out what you think of Homegoing. Such a great book. #62 on how many copies? I feel like you’ve already really moved up the line! It’ll 100% be worth the wait!

  2. Glad to hear The Princess and the Warrior and The Princess and the Pony were both hits. Definitely check out more of Tonatiuh’s work if you get a chance–I love everything he puts out and a lot of his books are great non-fiction biographies or picture books 😀

Leave a Reply

