My 2016 in Non-Fiction

Thanks Doing Dewey for hosting this event this year!

What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year?

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West. I just finished this and I loved it. I feel like a stalker but I want to spend some time on Google hunting down Lindy West articles to read.   But the year isn’t done!  I’m determined to get Tiny Beautiful Things read this year – maybe I’ll love it even more?  I was also really surprised at how much I enjoyed Locally Laid  since farming is most decidedly not my thing. 

What nonfiction book have you recommended the most?

Charlotte Brontë: A Fiery Heart by Claire Harman might top the list along with 5 Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink.

What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet?

This is a hard question! I think I need more historical biographies in my life.  I also need to read more globally.  I still have to get to Without You There is No Us.  I also just learned about The Secret History of the Mongol Queens: How the Daughters of Genghis Khan Rescued His Empire – tell me you don’t want to read that based on the title.  I also really need to pick up my copy of The Dragon Behind the Glass: A True Story of Power, Obsession, and the World’s Most Coveted Fish.  I love books like that about topics I’ll know nothing about and how they send me down the rabbit hole to MORE books.  Basically this question is giving me anxiety for all the books I have still to read.

What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?

Of course I want all the new to me titles to add to my TBR and always to find some new book nerds to talk to. I say book nerd with total love as a nerd myself!

22 Comments

  1. Um yeah, I need to read about Genghis Khan’s daughters for sure.

    I’m so happy you’re participating in this! I read Shrill FINALLY. I loved it so much and I feel exactly like you – I need to go on a Lindy West rabbit hole adventure ASAP.

    That Bronte bio was hard work but I’m glad I read it. Also because of you!

  2. I’m reading Memorial now and it reads like a page turner! I’m totally engrossed…and sad for how everything went down.
    You must read TBT…I was hesitant b/c I don’t generally like advice columns, but I loved it.
    And – what in the world is the world’s most coveted fish?! I’m so curious.

  3. I deliberately skipped this week because it would be litrally impossible for me to name just one nonfiction topic I want to read more of. ALL OF THEM would be my answer, basically — the nonfiction tab of my TBR spreadsheet is 300+ titles long and will never, ever stop growing.

Leave a Reply

