Nonfiction November: Choosing My Nonfiction

I’m slow but I’m here for week two of Nonfiction November!  Thank you Rachel at Hibernator’s Library for keeping this going this week!

What are you looking for when you pick up a nonfiction book?

I’m definitely a mood reader so I have to pick up a book that fits at that time.  For example based on my anxiety right now due to the state of the world I’m going to be looking for lighter nonfiction.  Something that tells an engrossing story like Into Thin Air or The Dead Duke, His Secret Wife and The Missing Corpse.  

Do you have a particular topic you’re attracted to?

Always feminism and biographies or autobiographies of awesome women.  Bring them on!  I’m always interested in Lucrezia Borgia and currently obsessed with RBG.  Otherwise I am pretty much all over the board in my interests.  I am curious about more hard science books – like Neurotribes: The Legacy of Autism and the Future of Neurodiversity after Shannon at River City Reading recommended it – but I think I need shorter the better for that kind of topic. 

Do you have a particular writing style that works best?

I don’t think so?  As long as I’m interested I’m in -even if it takes me 4 months like Romantic Outlaws did in the end.   I would probably pick up narrative nonfiction first given a shelf of options. 

When you look at a nonfiction book, does the title or cover influence you?

Totally!  I can’t imagine not at least picking up a book just based on a great title or cover.  I mean – The Bad Ass Librarians of Timbuktu or again The Dead Duke, His Secret Wife and the Missing Corpse?  I get so very curious right away!  I really need to pick up Severed: A History of Heads Lost and Found – I forget who recommended this but thank you!

20665578

14 Comments

  1. I’m reading Jane Austen’s England right now. A lot of it is about how women had no rights and were barely people. Having a hard time getting through it in light of recent events.

    Going to need to pivot for my next choice – The Dead Duke…has been on my list for ages! If you end up reading it soon, please report back!

  2. I’m getting more interested in bios/memoirs of interesting women lately, too. I know Nonfiction November is all about books obviously, but here’s a movie rec anyway — if you haven’t seen it yet, definitely check out ‘Iron Jawed Angels’ about Alice Paul & Lucy Burns & the 19th Amendment.

  3. Oh my gosh, Severed sounds fascinating! I never feel like I’m reading as much nonfiction as I want to be, but I do my very best. I like to switch up between popular nonfiction and academic — the latter takes much longer, but I like knowing that I’m getting All the Best Facts. :p

  4. I’m with you on escaping reality right now, but nonfiction just doesn’t do it for me. I’m trying really hard!

    I also love Lucrezia Borge and have read several fictional accounts of her life so will need to take a look at the book you link to here.

Leave a Reply

