It’s Monday: What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Kathryn from Book Date, I almost titled this check in “It’s Monday What the Heck Should I Be Reading” but then I was inspired when flipping through my kindle. Thanks to the reference in the fantastic Rich People Problems [review to come] I started  25987033The Dragon Behind the Glass: A True Story of Power, Obsession and The World’s Most Coveted Fish by Emily Voigt – because who doesn’t find the idea of a pet fish that people commit murder over kind of fascinating?

I’m also reading Difficult Women – very very very slowly because Roxane Gay is brutal and beautiful and amazing. I’m finishing a reread of Quintana of Charyn – which is also brutal and wonderful.  I definitely need to start something on the fluffier side for night time reading.  Any suggestions?

What are you reading this week?

16 Comments

  1. Oh, Amanda. That is such a perfect way to describe Roxane Gay’s writing. That collection of stories was astounding. I miss her on Twitter – I hope she’s ok?

    So, what is it about these fish that makes them so valuable???? Look at Rich People Problems, educating readers!

  2. Oh, if you want something fluffy, I just read Drew Hayden Taylor’s short story collection Take Us to Your Chief, which wasn’t exactly fluffy but was really funny and delightful. If you want something genuinely fluffy, I can always make romance novels recs. 😀 😀

  3. Oh I enjoyed Quintana of Charyn but it was rough–more so, I’d imagine, with your own new baby. I’m reading Strange the Dreamer but it’s so intense and I’m so worried about the main character that I have been reading 5 pages or so and then stopping to recover. Lots of fun contemporaries are coming out this summer! My faves are When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo, Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith and coming this July Lucky in Love by Kasie West.

    • Yes! That is my issue with Quintana for sure. I am so curious about Strange the Dreamer! I’m glad it is intense. I know you had a Jane Unlimited ticket this last weekend and I’m DYING of curiosity about that one! I have Dimple waiting at the library so that’s a perfect suggestion! I need to get over there to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

