2016 TBR Challenge: I Capture the Castle

I Capture the Castle, Dodie Smith

Published: 1948

Source: Chicago Public Library

31122Through six turbulent months of 1934, 17-year-old Cassandra Mortmain keeps a journal, filling three notebooks with sharply funny yet poignant entries about her home, a ruined Suffolk castle, and her eccentric and penniless family. By the time the last diary shuts, there have been great changes in the Mortmain household, not the least of which is that Cassandra is deeply, hopelessly, in love.

Ok so I’m basically failing at our self made 2016 TBR Challenge.  But if I’m going down without reading those 10 books, at least I picked up I Capture the Castle.  This was just a delightful read.  I almost felt like I was a kid meeting Anne Shirley for the first time again. Or Emily Starr and the letter bills that she filled with her writings.  So if you enjoy either of those LM Montgomery heroines you should definitely pick up I Capture the Castle.  

Yes, Cassandra’s family is kind of ridiculous, but they have a lot of charm.  I kind of wanted to poke her father and hug her stepmother – but I still enjoyed them all!  Maybe I didn’t love how things played out between Cassandra and her sister, though that could be simply because my sister is my favorite and I couldn’t do those things!  This was a short, sweet and sometimes silly read.  Definitely one I needed this year.  If you need a book to put a smile on your face leading into November I definitely recommend this one.  I just spotted Primary Colors on my bookshelf – now more than 10 years waiting to be read. Maybe that will have to be my next challenge attempt for a swing in the opposite direction…

12 Comments

  1. I totally get your comparison to Anne Shirley. I felt the same way too. Alas, the actual details of the novel have faded dramatically over the past few years since I read it. Still, yes, it is a thoroughly enjoyable read.

  2. You know what? Whatever, if you don’t cross all your books off the challenge list. You crossed this one off and that’s one less than you had before.
    I read this a long time ago. I don’t remember tons about it, except the warm fuzzy feeling you only get from certain books.

  3. Yayyyyyyy! I’m so glad you read and liked this — it’s such a dear of a book, and I am endlessly grateful to JK Rowling for mentioning it when she did. Apparently that was all it took to get it back in print and back in the rotation of beloved classics. Ah to have that kind of power. 😀

Leave a Reply

