Top Ten Tuesday: One Thing I Dislike in Book Romances

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday (from the Broke and the Bookish) is Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes to Romance in Books.

cafc6-toptentuesday

Well, I really only have one thing that drives me batshit crazy related to romance in books, and that’s when books, particularly novels geared towards young adults, present unhealthy, domineering, emotionally abusive relationship patterns as completely normal. The most well-known recent examples are, of course, a certain teenage vampire series and then the bestselling trilogy which it inspired that is about to open as a movie this weekend (and yes, I know that second one wasn’t geared toward YA readers – at least I hope not. Right? I haven’t read it…but I did read this review)

Anyway, rather than further espouse on this topic right now, I will simply direct you to this post comparing Edward Cullen and Bella Swan’s relationship to the National Domestic Violence Hotline criteria.

Creepy much?

Creepy much?

If you have any suggestions for books with healthy relationships, please by all means share them in the comments!

7 Comments

  1. I just have to say- I freaking loved that blog about 50 Shades of Grey. I have not read it and have no desire to do so. In fact, I will from now on picture Mr. Grey as George Costanza in full on sexy pose in case curiosity pulls me to see the movie when it comes out on DVD. However, I am going to admit that I liked the Twilight books- twisted teenage angst and all. Eh, it was entertaining. I prefer the truly creepy vampires like Anne Rice’s creations however. And I like the oddball yet creepy Sookie Stackhouse stories as well- her vampires are nice and creepy and do not glitter. She is an interesting and strong female character!
    Oh, this vampire digression this does not in any way answer your plea for normal , healthy relationships……Hmmm…..

  2. As long as you agree that Romeo and Juliet is just as creepy and abusive as Twilight, then we are on the same page. Otherwise, it is fiction, and it is a vampire story, so yeah. Just because I read stories like that as a teen doesn’t mean I would be okay with that. I mean when I was a teenager I was reading Flowers in the Attic and My Sweet Audrina, yet not once did I want to have a relationship with my brother, or even think it was a good idea!!! I think teens are a lot smarter than people give them credit for. At least the ones I know are.

Leave a comment