January 19: Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR and the Bloggers I Blame

Today’s Broke and Bookish Top Ten list is 10 books you’ve recently added to your TBR – and I’m also including the Bloggers I can blame (er thank) for adding to my TBR!

cafc6-toptentuesday

  1. The Wife, the Maid and the Mistress by Ariel Lawhon – Thanks Sarah’s Book Shelves and look out book club as I am totally picking this one later this year!
  2. The Long Shadow of Small Ghosts: Murder and Memory in an American City by Laura Tillman
  3. My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix (I loved his Horrorstor!)
  4. A Thousand Naked Strangers: A Paramedic’s Wild Ride to the Edge and Back by Kevin Hazzard (Thank you Malcolm Avenue Review)
  5. Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger
  6. The Widow by Fiona Barton (Thanks Cleopatra Loves Books!)
  7. The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House by Kate Anderson Brower
  8. Mr. Splitfoot by Samantha Hunt (Thanks Estella’s Revenge!) – this is in at the library and I am d-y-i-n-g to get there to pick it up.  Damn Chicago and our too cold to walk that far weather.
  9. The Expatriates by Janice Y.K. Lee
  10. Sarong Party Girls by Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan (while not a recommendation from The Paperback Princess, I thank/blame her for setting me down this path! Seriously – read Crazy Rich Asians)

What’s new on your TBR?

18 Comments

  1. Hooray for Naked Strangers, hope you enjoy it! This is a great list, many are on my wish list, but I am also tied to the library since I hopped on Andi’s #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks challenge. And it’s KILLING ME, because I’m also waiting for Mr. Splitfoot! For some reason that crazypants novel is really high on my list of things I just can’t wait to get my hands on. Hope you get there soon! (Thanks for the shouty, very nice of you).

      • The thing I like is that it’s a bit of a “make your own” rules “challenge” and library books are allowed. I’m basically using it to try and curb spending on new books and to get to some of the things on my shelf that I really wanted to read but set aside for ARCs. I obviously have commitment issues, too. 🙂 I do, too! Let us know when you get it, if I also get it at around the same time it would be fun to compare notes.

  2. I had The Wife, the Maid and the Mistress out from the library in December and returned it unread! What was I thinking? Guess I need to go back!
    I’m not sorry about the Crazy Rich Asians thing at all. I’ve recently discovered that I am a sucker for any fiction that takes place in Asia. I’m FASCINATED by the history and the culture. The Widow was REALLY good. The Residence sounds so interesting! Have you read The President’s Club? Excellent.
    Thanks for adding to my own list, jerk.

  3. Holy crap. I totally missed the fact that My Best Friend’s Exorcism is by the same author as Horrorstor. This totally changes my feelings on this book now. Off to NetGalley to see if it is still available!

Leave a comment